Task: Do an anonymous good deed

There’s an obvious problem with doing an anonymous good deed and then posting it here.  I find those slebs telling magazines that, well, yes,  they do donate significantly to charity, but honestly, they don’t like to talk about it, slightly on the annoying side of wonderful.

My mitigating circumstances are that my actual deed was and is anonymous.  I signed up with Kiva, (kiva.org) which is a non-profit organisation.  Kiva’s mission is to alleviate poverty by working with micro-finance institutions to give loans to people who don’t have access to traditional banking systems.  So you sign up, chose who you would like to help, chose how much you would like to lend them, and then your money is sent to a micro-finance institution which administers the loan.  When the loan is repaid, you can re-invest in someone else.  I’m sure there is more to it than that, but that’s the gist of it.  I chose to remain anonymous on the site, it was easy to do, and I’m really pleased to have done it.

Gallery | This entry was posted in My tasks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

